Where The States Stand On Marriage Equality

Jurisdictions that license marriage for same-sex couples: Connecticut, District of Columbia, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont

States that recognize marriages of same-sex couples in whole or in part: all of the above, and California, Maryland, New Mexico, Rhode Island

States with civil unions or registered domestic partnerships providing a separate “equivalent’’ relationship: California, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington

States with limited statewide protections for same-sex couples: Colorado, Maine, Maryland, Wisconsin

States with November ballot measures allowing the freedom for same-sex couples to marry: Maine, Maryland, Washington

States with cases seeking the freedom to marry in state courts: New Jersey

States with cases seeking the freedom to marry in federal court: California, Hawaii, Indiana, Nevada

States with November ballot measures to forbid same-sex marriage: Minnesota

Most recent state to forbid any form of relationship recognition for same-sex couples by constitutional amendment: North Carolina (May 2012)

> Read the full article via The Boston Globe